Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COASTAL BEND COLLEGE: Databases

Database Information


Logging into the Databases

On Campus

To access the databases from ON campus, please visit our On Campus tab. You should not be asked for login credentials if utilizing any of the computers on a Coastal Bend College campus.

 

Off Campus

To access the databases from OFF campus (this includes Dual Enrollment campuses), please visit our Off Campus tab.

Your login credentials will be as follows:

Username: Your CBC Email (Ex. Imastudent@study.coastalbend.edu)

Password: Your CBC email password (Ex. Your student ID number)

 

Additional Help

If you are having trouble logging in, or need additional login credentials, please call (361) 592-1615 Ext. 4084 or (361) 354-2737 or email library@coastalbend.edu.

E-Librarian

Profile Photo
Naomi Camacho-Barrera
she/her/hers
Contact:
1814 S. Brahma Blvd
Office 135A
Kingsville, TX 78363
361-592-1615 EXT 4084

How to Use the Databases for Research

Step 1

 Do you have a clear topic in mind? 

Look to your syllabus to find what your research paper should be over, if you're still unsure, consult your professor before continuing.

Step 2

Now that you have your topic in mind, you're ready to do some searching!

There's two ways to start your search. You can either go to the library home page and type your search in the "Search Catalog" box, or you can look through the database list, find one in your field, and search there. If you're ON campus, you'll search here and if you're OFF campus, you'll search here. If you're unsure where to start, Academic Search Complete is a good database to start with.

If you are OFF campus, you will need to log in using the following credentials:

Username: Your CBC email (Ex. student@study.coastalbend.edu)

Password: Your CBC Student ID number: 0123456

Step 3

Use your limiters! 

Once you start your search, you might find that there's thousands of results. This is where limiters (or filters) come in to play. Look to the left hand side of your search screen and click on limiters that might help filter your results. Three helpful limiters are 

1. Full Text (This will give you full articles rather than just the summaries or reviews of a text)

2. Peer-Reviewed (This means that experts in the field have looked over this particular information and there is data to back it up)

3. Publication Date (Limiting this to a five-year span helps you find information that is up to date and relevant, BUT if you're looking for historic events, don't use this limiter)

Step 4

Find your articles

Look through your results and see if any articles line up with what you're looking for. Read through them and find the ones you would like to use in your paper.

Step 5

Don't forget your citation

Good news! If you're using any of the EBSCO databases, your citation is DONE FOR YOU ALREADY! Just click on the little note icon on the right-hand side of your article for citations in different formats including APA and MLA. You'll just copy and paste the citation into your "References" (APA) or "Works Cited (MLA) page. (Make sure to check citations for accuracy using the guidelines your instructor has requested and follow proper formatting procedures).

 

 

Take a deep breath, we're here to help! If you have questions about assignment and citation help, online searching, general reference, or need some assistance with accessing a particular database, you can contact us here:

Email: library@coastalbend.edu

Phone: (361) 354-2737 or (361) 592-1615 Ext. 4084

PHP Staff Login