It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English & Literary Criticism Resources: Find Articles & Videos
Resources for English, literature, language & literary criticism
To locate literary criticism through an electronic database, click on the databases of your choice to begin searching. To search for a theme and a selection (jealousy AND "The Crucible") add the thematic element, the word AND before the title of the selection. Make sure the title of the selection is in quotation marks. One database will contain more critiques than others so it is important to extend your search between the various databases offered by the library. Databases may also duplicate articles. To avoid duplicate articles, try various synonyms or paraphasing to increase search results.
Literati is a full-text e-reference book collection including images, videos, and hyperlinks that combines reliable, citable reference content with you CBC Library's resources and helps you to do faster, more effective research.
This unique database indexes classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. Play Index covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.
Short Story Index is searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique and source, or by any combination of terms, making it easy for users to find what they are looking for. Additionally, subject access helps narrow searches even further by theme, locale, narrative technique or device.